It’s all in the watch…

I should probably start this blog by saying I’m a watch fanatic and it doesn’t take much for me to see how much a watch can improve my life. Well, that’s another way of saying I can easily talk myself in to buying another….

So, I have just purchased the Garmin Fenix 3 HR Sapphire and so far I’m loving it. I’m somewhat of a geek when it comes to having a fancy map and stats when reflecting on my excercise.

I write this whilst on a peaceful camping trip in Dorset.   I’m staying close enough to a market town so I can use that distance as my running route and for me it’s awesome as it’s fresh air, beautiful scenery and yesterday I had to pause my run for cows on the road going between fields.  For someone who lives closer to the city this kind of run is a brilliant change.

Better still whilst walking around town my daughter asked to do a boat ride on the river. Whilst getting the boat ready I remembered the watch can track a wide range of sports, so I turned on the rowing feature and tracked it. It was only when looking at the results of this boat trip when I fully appreciated how great the GPS mapping is. It absolutely tracked how my boat weaved all over the river. I previously thought the mapping was not so precise. How wrong was I…

Well today I’m off to somewhere which is super beautiful and has really nice walks around a great big lake. The kids get to have fun spotting fairies and squirrels for an activity sheet and I get to use the hike feature.  Woohoo, everyone’s a winner….

Anyway I’m now off to start the day. I’m sure there will be more to follow on this watch…

Leave a Reply

